DEA inspection.

Buprenorphine Post
compchat57

Postby compchat57 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:48 am

I'm new to this and have no computerized chart system. My concern with DEA is that they will wish to randomly audit ALL charts even those that are not being treated with BUP. We've separated the charts by color and I'm wondering if that is sufficient. For instance Blue Charts are for BUP patients only. Would the DEA be entitled to look at all my charts or only the Blue Charts (BUP patients)? Of course as a general internist the vast number of charts are non bup patients.

algosdoc

Postby algosdoc » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:48 am

An X number from the DATA 2000 registration is required only for addiction treatment with buprenorphine products. The use of suboxone or buprenex or zubsolv or bunavail or generic SL buprenorphine for pain does not require an "X" number, but in such cases would suggest performing a DSM4 or 5 Addiction Screen to****ure they really are not addicts.

Michael L. Whitworth

catschollmd

Postby catschollmd » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:48 am

Had first DEA inspection recently after 2 1/2 yrs. My understanding is IF you dispense (stock to do induction) it must be every 2-3 yrs but if only writing within every 5 years. 2 very nice gentlemen came out, Very pleasant. we use Stratus EHR, is dedicated to addiction medicine only. But we still keep that DEA log sheet that Suboxone web site used to give out and a weekly up to date active list. They like that because they didn't have to handle any charting or computer.ONLY comment I got was did I write pt address in address line on Rxs. (not usually unless out of state) they said no one does but it is the DEA law. and they are there to help and answer questions. was quite pleasant actually. and informative.